Testing News

Testing posts for news item

Managing, editing and approving comments

To manage comments made on your site, click on Comments on your dashboard

or in the drop down in the right hand corner of your dashboard.

Brief overview of your Comment screen

In the Comments screen you can search for comments:

By comment type (i.e. comment or ping) – a ping is also called a pingback

Keyword such as author name, site URL.

You can also choose to view all comments, only those that have been approved, those pending (i.e. those comments which are in the moderation queue and need to be approved by an administrator before appearing on the site), or those marked as spam.

The comment action links

Hovering your mouse over a comment brings up six action links beneath the comment text.

Approve/Unapprove

Clicking the action link Approve publishes the comment to your site and changes the link to Unapprove. Whereas clicking the Unapprove link removes the comment from your site and puts the comment back in the moderation queue.

Spam

Clicking the action link Spam removes the comment from your site and places it in your spam folder. You can delete all spam using the Delete all spam when you are looking at your spam comments.

Delete

Clicking the action link Deletes removes the comment from your blog and deletes it. Be careful though; once deleted you can’t undelete a comment.

Edit

Clicking the action link Edit opens the comment into full edit mode where you can edit content in any box. For example, remove someone’s surname, fix a site URL or hyperlink, provide help with spelling or grammatical errors.

Once finished editing click Update Comment.

Quick Edit

Clicking the action link Quick Edit accomplishes the same as the Edit link except instead of taking you to a new Edit Comment page, it drops down a quick edit text box. Benefit is you can do a fast edit on the same page.

TIP: If you double click on a comment it opens the comment into Quick Edit mode.

Reply

Clicking the action link Reply drops down a quick text box on the same page to allow you to reply to a comment right from the Edit Comment screen. This means you can reply here rather than directly on your site.

Controlling who can comment

In your Administration panel, you have full control over:

  • Who can and can’t leave a comment.
  • Whether comments are or aren’t allowed for the entire site, or on a per post or page basis
  • Whether comments appear immediately or comments are moderated and need to be approved by an administrator before appearing on the site.

There are two areas in the Settings menu of your Administration panel for controlling comments:

1. Discussion

2. Privacy

The most used comment settings

There is a wide range of comment settings that you can use.

Most people choose one of these four

Option 1: Comments can be posted by anyone and appear immediately

Option 2: Any visitors that have had a comment approved on the site in the past will have their comment immediately posted and only comments from new visitors go into moderation

Option 3: All comments are moderated and need to be approved by an administrator before appearing on the site

Option 4: Only people who have been added as users to the site and logged in can comment on the site.

Other important comment settings

There are quite a few comment setting options so lets explain the most important setting one at a time.

Default article settings

The default article settings controls how to handle post notifications.

The first two options deal with link notification:

Attempt to notify any sites linked to from the article: Enabled by default, your site sends a notification to any site, or blog post, you’ve linked to.

Allow link notifications from other sites – Enabled by default, it means your site will accept ping, pingbacks and trackbacks from other site whenever someone links to your site or post. Pingbacks and trackbacks allow you to request notification when somebody links to your site.

In most circumstances you wouldn’t change these default settings because knowing when other people are talking about, or linking to, you from their posts are important.

Allow people to post comments on new articles, controls whether readers can or can’t leave comments on your site.

Other comment settings

Comment author must fill out name and e-mail: Enabled by default, this option requires the commenter to fill out their name and e-mail in order to leave a comment. Most situations you really don’t want this disabled because it’s not a good idea to allow anonymous comments.

Users must be registered and logged in to comment: When selected only logged in users can leave a comment.

Email me whenever settings

The email me whenever option controls whether you receive emails any time anyone leaves a comment on your site and any time a comment is held for moderation.

You can be emailed when:

  • Anyone posts a comment: is sent to email address of the person who wrote the post (i.e. the post author)
  • A comment is held for moderation: is sent to site’s admin email address (Setting then General)

Normally you would keep both these settings enabled so you’re notified of all comments.

Before a comment appears

You can decide if you want to read and approve every comment that is made before allowing it to appear on the site, or if you want to approve the comments of people who haven’t commented before. If you choose either of these options you will be sent an email notifying you when a comment is waiting for your approval.

Comment moderation and blacklist

The comment moderation options are used to control spam comments.

Normally spam comments include a large number of hyperlinks. The default setting is 2; you can adjust this to your needs.

Another option for controlling spam comments is to add specific words, name , URL, email address or IP into the comment moderation box. You use this comment moderation option where you have repeat spam comment offenders.

If someone comments using a email address or words that you have blacklisted, you will be sent a notification by email, so that you can decide whether to allow the comment or not.

Engaging with visitors through comments

You can allow visitors to leave comments on your News and Events posts if you wish. Comments can be a good way to engage with your visitors and encourage them to interact with you and each other both on and off line.

Writing a comment on a News and Event post

For people to leave a comment on a post on your site, they don’t need to be a user. They can just click on the Comment link at the bottom of the post.

The link may say something like “1 Comment”, “Comments (0)”

or even “No Comments”. If you do not want people to be able to comment on your News and Events posts, you can disable this function.

Now all you need to do to write a comment is:

Enter your name and email address – your email address is hidden which means only the site administrators can see it.

Enter your own website details

Write your comment in the box

Enter the anti-spam word

Tick the ‘Notify me of follow-up comments via e-mail‘ if you want to be notified by email to comments by other readers

Now click Submit Comment

TIP: Leaving your own blog or website details on another site is important because other readers often click on this link if they like what you’ve written and want to check out your site!

Changing roles and removing users

When you set up a site with multiple users you have the ability to assign and control what other users can do depending on the tasks you want each user to be responsible for.

To change the role of a user

Click on Users in your dashboard

Select the user you want to change, click on drop down arrow to select new role and then click Change

To remove a user

Click on Users in your dashboard

Hover your mouse over their username and click Remove

If you want to remove more than one user at a time, tick the box next to their names and select Remove from the drop down of Bulk Actions.